WARF Ambassador Program
 

Connecting UW–Madison researchers to technology transfer

WARF Ambassadors help enhance the vital connection between research and tech transfer by increasing WARF's visibility on campus. Ambassadors are creative and energetic graduate students and postdocs from scientific or technical disciplines who are interested in the technology transfer process. They spend up to 10 hours per month enhancing WARF's engagement with campus researchers through departmental seminars, informal contacts and more.

WARF’s graduate student and postdoc Ambassadors share information about WARF’s role in technology development and entrepreneurial resources with campus departments. Their on-the-ground experience helps inform new initiatives and enhance communication between WARF and the campus community. Ambassadors gain experience in leading events, speaking to diverse audiences and learn about the importance of intellectual property and technology transfer at a university.

Interested in becoming a WARF Ambassador?

  sign up   We'll notify you when the application period opens.

Contact us at ambassador@warf.org with questions.
 

Current Ambassadors


Shane Bernard

Department: Bacteriology
Major Professor: Jean-Michel Ane
Email: smbernard@wisc.edu
Background: Researches the molecular tools used by plants and microbes to communicate; learned about WARF as part of the Integrated Program in Biochemistry.

Francesco profile picture

Francesco Carotti

Department: Engineering Physics
Major Professor: Raluca Scarlat
Email: carotti@wisc.edu
Background: Studies the chemistry of high temperature molten salts used for clean energy applications; attended the Wisconsin Entrepreneurial Bootcamp and participated in the WARF Discovery Challenge.

Lukas profile picture

Lukas Duddleston

Department: Mechanical Engineering
Major Professor: Tim Osswald
Email: lduddleston@wisc.edu
Background: Studies various polymer (plastics) engineering problems ranging from plastic pipe extrusion to 3-D printing with an emphasis on supporting industrial partners.

Amy profile picture

Amy Jancewicz

Department: Cellular & Molecular Biology
Major Professor: Patrick Masson
Email: jancewicz@wisc.edu
Background: Researches plant genetic response pathways to the polyamines cadaverine and putrescine using genetic and biochemical approaches.


Margaux Kenwood

Department: Psychiatry
Major Professor: Ned Kalin
Email: kenwood@wisc.edu
Background: Studies how gene expression changes in the brain predict anxious behaviors with the goal of identifying novel therapeutic targets for treating anxiety-related disorders.

Niyanta profile picture

Niyanta Kumar

Department: Pharmaceutical Sciences
Major Professor: Robert Thorne
Email: niyanta.kumar@wisc.edu
Background: Researches intranasal delivery to target antibody-based therapeutics to the brain while bypassing the blood-brain barrier; previous winner of the WARF Discovery Challenge (2014).


Justin Mobley

Department: Biochemistry/Wisconsin Energy Institute/Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center
Major Professor: John Ralph
Email: jmobley2@wisc.edu
Background: Studies the chemical breakdown of native and designer lignins and biomass to develop upgrading techniques for renewable chemicals and pharmaceuticals; submitted two invention disclosures to WARF.


Will Olson

Department: Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Major Professor: Laura Knoll
Email: wolson3@wisc.edu
Background: Researches the host-parasite metabolic interactions that define Toxoplasma gondii infection; heard about WARF at a professional development panel.


Katharine Shulz

Department: Biomolecular Chemistry
Major Professor: Melissa Harrison
Email: knschulz@wisc.edu
Background: Studies the chromatin regulation that accompanies genome activation in the Drosophila embryo.


Akire Trestrail

Department: Medical Physics
Major Professor: Bruce Thomadsen
Email: trestrail@wisc.edu
Background: Researches directional brachytherapy; attended the Wisconsin Entrepreneurial Bootcamp.

Headshot of Sandy

Sandy Tseng

Department: Biochemistry
Major Professor: Aseem Ansari
Email: sctseng@wisc.edu
Background: Studies how gene expression is regulated via modifications of RNA Polymerase II; participated in the WARF Discovery Challenge.