Discovery Challenge Winners



Research Symposium

Naomi Biok (chemistry)
Chenxuan Wang; Nicholas L. Abbott (both chemical and biological engineering)
Cationic Modulation of Hydrophobic Interactions in Peptidic Systems in Bulk Solution

Ryan Clark  (chemical and biological engineering)
Laura McGinley; Haoxiang Lyu; Thatcher Root; Brian Pfleger (all chemical and biological engineering)
Light-Limited Growth of Cyanobacterial Cultures

Sarah Neuman (pharmaceutical sciences)
Jessica Smoko; Arash Bashirullah (both pharmacy)
A Screen for Systemic Growth Regulators Reveals Hobbit, a Novel and Conserved Regulator of Insulin Secretion

Qinjingwen Cao* (chemistry)
Qing Yu (pharmacy); Bingming Chen (pharmacy); Chuanzi OuYang (chemistry); Fengfei Ma (pharmacy)
Multifaceted Mass Spectrometric Analyses of Feeding-Related Metabolomic and Peptidomic Changes in the Rock Crab, Cancer Irroratus
*Peer choice winner




Research Symposium

Research Award Competition

Robert Stankey (bacteriology)
Industrial Streptomyces Strains Engineered for Heterologous Secretion of Lignocellulolytic Enzymes Acquire Enhanced Capabilities to Consume Lignocellulosic Materials

Mahmoud Sharara (biological systems engineering)
Spatially Explicit Life Cycle Optimization of Cellulosic Ethanol Supply Base: Case Study in South Central Wisconsin

Michael Vaughn (computer sciences)
NoFAQ: Synthesizing Command Repairs from Examples

Andrew Merluzzi* (medicine and public health)
Brain Tissue Microstructure Is Altered in Healthy Older Adults and Is Associated with Early Cognitive Dysfunctions
*Peer choice winner

Wei-Hua Lee and Vijesh Bhute

Brynna Wilken-Resman and Dmitry Malin




Research Symposium

Research Award Competition

Darryl Wesener (biochemistry)
A Protein of the Innate Human Immune System Recognizes Carbohydrates Utilized Exclusively by Microbes

Ritodhi Chakraborty (geography)
Climate and Agricultural Change at the Third Pole: The Impact of Change in Precipitation on Small Farmer Agriculture in the Himalayas

Ramakrishnan Durairajan (computer sciences)
Internet Atlas: A Geographic Database of the Physical Internet

Jiehao Guan (biological systems engineering)
Development of a Chemically Modified Gold Nanoparticle-Based Optical Sensor for Highly Sensitive and Selective Detection of Heavy Metal Contamination in Water Samples

Mengyi Cao (bacteriology) and Matthew Stilwell (biochemistry)
A Microfluidic Device for Tracking Bacteria-Animal Symbioses

Mustafa Ozcam (food science) and Rachel Wilson (surgery)
Suppression of Intestinal Inflammation and Its Effect on Colorectal Cancer




Research Symposium

Research Award Competition

Szymon Ciesielski (biochemistry)
PIM1 Dependent Proteolysis of the Scaffold Protein Isu in Regulation of Fe-S Cluster Biogenesis

Gagan Gupta (computer sciences)
Harnessing Resources in the Dark Silicon Era

Robert R. Lindner (astronomy)
Autonomous Gaussian Decomposition: An Algorithm for Interpreting the World's Spectral Big Data

Shuting Zhang (biological systems engineering)
Conversion of Lignocellulosic Biomass to Furan-Based Chemicals Using Molten Salt Hydrates in Biphasic System

Bingming Chen (pharmacy), Ross W. Cheloha (chemistry) and Niyanta Kumar (pharmacy)

Ashok Sundramoorthy (biological systems engineering) and Gerald Brady (materials science)




Research Symposium

Research Award Competition

Matthew Bruss (biochemistry)
An In Vivo Metric of Autophagic Flux to Improve Cancer Treatment

David Kiefer (family medicine)
Herbal Medicine Use: A Comparison Between Two Research Sites

Kaitlin Mitchell (medical microbiology and immunology)
Extracellular Matrix Mannan in Candida albicans Biofilms Contributes to Antifungal Resistance

Harisha Rajanala (cell and molecular biology)
Biochemical Characterization of Bacterial Actins

Yi-Cheng Wang (biological systems engineering) and Ti-Yu Lin (biochemistry)

Ebony Murrell (entomology) and Pierre-Marc Delaux (agronomy)

David Kiefer (family medicine) and Jack Buchanan (agroecology)




Research Symposium

Research Award Competition

Laura Ellingson (kinesiology)
Sedentary Intervention Technology (SIT)

Matthew Begemann (chemical and biological engineering)
Engineering the Cyanobacterium Synechococcus sp. PCC 7002 to Produce 3-hydroxypropionate

Kevin Ponto (design studies, Living Environments Lab)

Dan Wolak (pharmaceutical sciences) and Corinna Burger (neurology)

Elise Lockwood (Wisconsin Center for Education Research) and Bryan Gibson (computer sciences)

Elon Roti Roti (obstetrics and gynecology) and Karissa Tillbury (biomedical engineering)